I just had my first fall..

Searching for the right instructor? Need some schooling advice? Share your experiences and ask others for help
LouLou
The SECOND number please: 99

I just had my first fall..

Postby LouLou » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:03 pm

I hope this is in right place, I'm sorry if its not..

Last week I had my first fall. We were cantering, I lost balance and fell. It was all over really quickly but I ended up in a&e with a injured knee and leg.

I've been riding for five months now and this is my first time falling but its really knocked my confidence. I dont know how to get over it. The idea of going back for my lesson is scary and I'm worried I'll get there and not be able to do it! How can I get over this?

Also, im worried that the people who saw me fall and my instructor are going to think less of me as a rider.. I know I'm not very good but I thought I was getting somewhere. Now they might think I'm not capable :|

Expert_LizPitman

Re: I just had my first fall..

Postby Expert_LizPitman » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:23 am

Everyone falls off sometimes. The important thing is to learn from what happened and let it help you become a better rider. If others having a lesson think less of you, so what? And I bet they have fallen off at some point and, if they haven't, they will in the future.

It's what happens between you and the horse that matters, not what other people think of you. And if your instructor thinks less of you for having a fall, then find somewhere else to have lessons. What a good instructor should do is see what happened and why, and then help you work on that part of your riding.

If balance is an issue, I'd suggest either lunge lessons or going to someone who has a simulator for a few lessons. There are a few really good instructors who have them that I know of - Heather Moffett, Becky Chapman to name 2, and I can promise you that neither of them would ever think badly of a pupil who fell off.

livyywinstyy
The SECOND number please: 99