New Home Issues

Liz is a Recommended Associate of the Intelligent Horsemanship Association, and can help with behavioural issues
chrissyh

New Home Issues

Postby chrissyh » Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:20 am

I recently bought a 5 year old Arabian gelding, he had already been backed and was really sweet when I tried him out. I took him home and rode him, and he was fine. Then due to business I couldn't ride him for a week. During that time he was turned out with my other horse during the day and stabled during the night. When I started riding him again, he was a nightmare! Everytime I sent him forwards he would rear and throw in the occasional buck. I don't think kicking or whipping will work either. I can't ride him and it's really frustrating. I've had his teeth, back etc. all checked and he's fine. What do you think is wrong? Is it just because he hasn't settled into his new home?
[color=#0000BF]A horse doesn't care what you know until he knows that you care.[/color]

Expert_LizPitman

Re: New Home Issues

Postby Expert_LizPitman » Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:21 am

Hi Chrissy,

Yes, it does rather sound like you've got "new home" problems. Some horses cope very well with moving and don't have issues at all. Some seem to cope for a month or two and then start to test boundaries as they feel more settled. Some have worries from the start. It very much sounds like your lad is falling into the latter camp.

My guess, and that's all it is of course without having met you, is that he's uncertain in his new environment but has found safety with your other horse. That makes him reluctant to leave what he perceives to be his safe place. What you need to do is make yourself a safe place for him too.

I'd start by not trying to ride until you've got more of relationship established, but instead work on getting your leadership in place so that he can trust you as he does your other horse. I'd start with some very simple groundwork and leading, then longlining if you know how to do that.