Stiff rider during canter.

Searching for the right instructor? Need some schooling advice? Share your experiences and ask others for help
Ukkey
The SECOND number please: 99

Stiff rider during canter.

Postby Ukkey » Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:29 pm

Hi guys, I'm new to H&R I have been posting around just to help others but I'm in need of some tips and tricks.

I'm very stiff during my canter, I either throw my shoulders to over compensate this or just half seat and in a school this is not good.

I need to loosen my hips up and keep my shoulders back, I cannot seem to do this? My instructor has mentioned keeping my core body muscles tense/breathing up into my abs to push them up and back but my hips just lock up, I have also found I push my feet forward a little.

I have been riding since I was 8 but havent had a propper lesson in a good 3 years or so, during that time I have been working on western yards as well as teaching and also alot, alot of hacking. So I have lost my seat in that time and it's realy frustraiting me when it took me ages to properly learn to canter when I was younger I'm feeling very disheartend. :(

I have been told to do some sit ups but I was wondering if there was anything else I could try/do/practice?

Amy

Re: Stiff rider during canter.

Postby Amy » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:02 pm

This may sound completely mad but before i starting cantering I did alot of lateral work as i needed to get muscle and also stay seated! it actually worked, but what i usually do is have a look on internet and see what is says or i ask my riding instructor :D I really hope this helpful

Lili

Postby Lili » Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:44 pm

Hi, this is very common, my hips were very locked and not supple. I solved it by doing lots of no stirrups riding on the lunge mainly in trot but it did massively help cantering.
Whilst on the lunge I do lots of stretching exercises and strength exercises.

Here are a few: